TCHR 2 STDNT TXTNG

 

CH3CK !+ 0U+ 

When I first read the title of this article, It’s 2014– Can You Text Your Students?,” my initial thought was “absolutely not,” but after reading the article, the author made some pretty valid points. First of all, it really is this generations main mode of communication; as much as we hesitate to admit that, a huuuge portion of our daily communication is done via texting. Therefore, it would make sense that other people in our lives, besides our peers and family, would use texting as a means of communicating with us. In the past year or so, at lest three of my doctors have started communicating with me via texting. Before each appointment, I receive a reminder text of the date and time so I don’t forget. When I received the first one, I thought it was pretty odd and it was really unexpected. But the more it happened, the more useful I found it. I try to put everything in my calendar on my phone with reminders so I don’t forget anything, but lately I’ve been incredibly busy and sometimes things like that slip my mind. So having a text reminder, in my opinion, is awesome and I love it. After realizing that, I thought about how texting could be used by school administrations and faculty. As the author mentioned, it would only be with the student’s permission, and all messages would have to be saved and recorded somewhere. I now thought back to high school and how many times I forgot to bring that one permission slip in, or forgot that we had a field trip the next day, and how helpful it would have been to receive one text from my school to remind me. 

Knowing that I’ll be in a school pretty soon, and eventually have my own classroom, this idea of texting my students is really fascinating. I completely relate to the whole having my phone at my side basically 24/7 (which is really bad, I know) and because of that I think this could be an extremely effective way of communicating with students who are otherwise unreachable. To us it may seem a little off, that teachers are texting their students, but we need to wrap our minds around the fact that this is 2014, we really are in an age of technology, and this could be the future way of communication between schools and their students. 

Leave a Reply

