Twitter Tweets (again)

This first tweet I found features an article that details a new app from CDW called Technology Insights. In short, this app provides an interactive roadmap to help users with varying levels of expertise to better understand the mobility maze. As we have learned, there is currently a disconnect between digital immigrants (some teachers) and digital natives (most students). This app helps users acquire the knowledge necessary to successfully integrate mobile devices both inside and outside the classroom. The app contains eight sections: Mobility Today, Plan, Enable Protect, Support, Empower, Mobility Profile, and Resources. Depending on the users knowledge and familiarity with technology and mobility, the app offers an Apprentice, Early Adopter, and Expert track. I think this would be beneficial for all educators to know about and use because it makes using mobile devices in the classroom very simple. Some teachers avoid using technology in the classroom because they don’t know what exactly to do with it, and the app fixes that. Technology Insights offers reference guides, videos, magazine articles, case studies, research data, and info graphics, all available on a mobile device.

This next tweet I found is incredibly important for all educators to see: it features an article about how to manage and minimize your digital footprint as an educator. When I first read the title, I wasn’t sure what my “digital footprint” was or why it would be important to manage as an educator. After reading the article, I now understand that my digital footprint refers to the traces of data that I leave behind on digital services like the Internet and social networking sites.  I was aware that most employers and recruiters look at their candidates profiles, but I had no idea 68% of these employers rejected a candidate based on what they saw on a social networking site. We’ve been told for years to watch what we put on the Internet, but I never really took it to heart until I read this article. I realize as a future teacher I have an image and a reputation to uphold. I will be a role model for my students and therefore have to be appropriate and respectful at all times.  The article mentions four main tips to think about when trying to keep your digital footprint in check: don’t friend students, be professional outside of the classroom, evolve from a lurker to a contributor, and learn about your social networks.

The final tweet I found talks about geocaching and the different types that exist. Although this is not directly education related, I think it’s a really fun and neat way to teach certain math and science concepts. Geocaching is based primarily on coordinates, and would be an incredibly exciting and hands on way to teach your students latitude and longitude. Different types of geocaches are the traditional cache, the multi-cache, the puzzle cache and the event cache. Teachers can set up their own caches in puzzle form to combine different concepts and learning opportunities. As educators we are always looking for new ways to engage our students and I think this is a modern and exciting way to educate our students and get them out enjoying the beautiful nature!

One thought on “Twitter Tweets (again)

Leave a Reply

